GFA to honour Asantehene, Togbe Afede and Dormaahene on Wednesday

The Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu II

The Ghana Football Association will award some distinguished personalities at its Extra-ordinary Congress at the Alisa Hotel (Asante Hall), Ridge in Accra on Wednesday January 4.

The awardees include the Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu II, Dormaahene Osagyefo Oseadeeyo Agyemang Badu II, Torgbe Afede XIV and some past and present football personalities.

The ceremony which will climax the extraordinary Congress, will be to acknowledge the contributions of these personalities to the development of football in the country.

Otumfuo Osei Tutu has been the life patron of Asante Kotoko FC and played a major role in the all activities of the senior national team.

Aside the assistance he offers the Premier League Board on various occasions, he Dormaahene also founded Aduana Football Club and guided the team to win the Ghana Premier League in their first year in the topflight.

Torgbe Afede XIV and Dormaahene Osagyefo Oseadeeyo Agyemang Badu II

As a majority Shareholder in the club, Togbe Afede has provided the financial strength to help one of Ghana’s most glamorous clubs Accra Hearts of Oak in its quest to revive its past glories.

Former Sports Minister, Hon. E.T Mensah who will also be honored on Wednesday was key in the formation of the current Ghana Premier League as well as the successes of the various national teams during his tenure.

Below are the awardees:


Otumfuo Osei Tutu II (Asantehene)
Osagyefo Oseadeeyo Agyemang Badu II
Torgbe Afede XIV (Agorgormefia)


Dr. Samuel Esson Jonah
Dr. Kwabena Duffour
Hon. Yaw Osafo-Maafo
Hon. Enoch Teye-Mensah
Dr. Paa Kwesi Nduom
Stephanie Sanders Sullivan


J.Y. Appiah
Sophia Okuley
Kwaku Ampim-Darko
Alhaji Adamu Iddrisu (Posthumous)
George Boroh Dasoberi (Posthumous)
Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor
Ernest Thompson
Habiba Atta Forson
Alex Mould

Source: GraphicOnline