Ghana re-elects Nana Akufo-Addo as President

Nana Akufo Addo, President elect.

Nana Addo Danquah Akufo-Addo has been re-elected as the president of Ghana for the next four years and will be inaugurated on January 7, 2021.

President Akufo Addo who was elected president in 2016 after failing twice in 2008 and 2012 has been declared as winner by the electoral commissioner in the January 7, 2020 presidential election after obtaining 6,730,413 representing 51.59% of the total votes. His main challenger former president John Mahama obtained 6,214,889 representing 47.36%. According to the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, the results does not include results from Techiman South constituency because that result is being challenged. However Ms. Jean Mensah, the EC Chairperson noted that the results of the Techiman South Constituency will not affect the overall results. Former president John Mahama has not conceded yet.

The Chairperson of the Electoral Commission did not talk about who will control the next parliament. However, results declared so far has NPP winning 137 seats and NDC winning 135 seats. 138 seats needed to form majority. Formena Constituency was won by an Independent candidate. Sene West and Upper Denkyira West are the two outstanding constituencies. NDC are leading in these two constituencies.